top of page


Bankruptcy Law

There are six types of bankruptcy under the Bankruptcy Code, located at Title 11 of the United States Code:

  • Chapter 7: Basic Liquidation For Individuals And Businesses;

  • Chapter 9: Municipal Bankruptcy;

  • Chapter 11: Rehabilitation Or Reorganization, Used Primarily By Business Debtors, but sometimes by individuals with substantial debts and assets;

  • Chapter 12: Rehabilitation For Family Farmers And Fishermen;

  • Chapter 13: Rehabilitation With A Payment Plan For Individuals With A Regular Source Of Income;

  • Chapter 15: Ancillary and Other International Cases. The most common types of personal bankruptcy for individuals are


Chapter 7 and Chapter 13. As much as 65% of all U.S. consumer bankruptcy filings are Chapter 7 cases. Corporations and other business forms file under Chapters 7 or 11.

TV Spot Footage.00_02_50_01.Still009.jpg
bottom of page